Raphael C. Lee, M.D., Sc.D., D.Sc. (Hon), FACS

AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 1999
For seminal contributions to the understanding and treatment of electrical burn injuries and development of practical electrical safety measures.

Seven UChicago scholars elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2022

Via University of Chicago | April 29, 2022

Seven members of the University of Chicago faculty have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

They include Profs. Christopher R. Berry, Raphael C. Lee, Peter B. Littlewood, Richard Neer, Sianne Ngai and Esteban Rossi-Hansberg, and Prof. Emerita Wadad Kadi.

These scholars have made breakthroughs in fields ranging from condensed matter physics to biomedical engineering and the aesthetics of capitalism. They join the 2022 class of 261 individuals, announced April 28, which includes artists, scholars, scientists, and leaders in the public, nonprofit and private sectors.

In addition to Rossi-Hansberg, AM’98, PhD’02, 13 UChicago alumni were also elected as part of this year’s class… Continue reading.

Vitamin D3 may reduce severity of COVID-19 respiratory viral infection

Via BMJ Publishing Group | April 8, 2020

It is well established that the ubiquitously expressed master immune response transcription factor NF-κB is centrally involved in the pathogenesis of respiratory viral infections. [1] Indeed, COVID-19 is known to activate the NF-κB pathway that results in the upregulation of many inflammatory gene promoters. [2] It is postulated that this results from multiple catalytic interactions that occurs between the viral nucelocapsid proteins and NF-κB mediated immunomodulation. [3,4,5] This signaling dynamic is similar to the manner in which other highly fatal coronaviruses, such as MERS and SARS-COV, are known to take control of the NF-κB pathway. [6-8] The activation of the NF-kB pathway leads to the release of inflammatory mediators often linked to the systemic inflammatory response syndrome. [8]

Vitamin D3 (VD3) also is a regulator of NF-kB mediated cellular responses, It is known to inhibit the production of the proinflammatory cytokines TNFα, interleukins, and other key activators of the cellular immune defense. [9,10] VD3 promotes phenotypic shifting of lymphocytes towards an anti-inflammatory subsets. [11] Furthermore, data from clinical studies indicate that VD3 deficiency is clinically associated with increased susceptibility to respiratory viral infections and increased severity once infected. [12] In the case of respiratory syncytial virus, vitamin D3 increases synthesis of the NF-κB inhibitor, IκBα, resulting in decreased expression of pro-inflammatory genes… Continue reading.

BMES Members Elected to National Academy of Engineers

Via Biomedical Engineering Society | February 15, 2013

Six Biomedical Engineering Society members were elected to the National Academy of Engineering: James Anderson, Dawn Bonnell, Raphael Lee, Kam Leong, Richard Murray and Stephen Quake.

NAE elected 69 new members and 11 foreign associates total, NAE President Charles M. Vest announced this week. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,250 and the number of foreign associates to 211.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

National Academy of Engineering Elects 69 Members And 11 Foreign Associates

Via National Academy of Sciences | February 7, 2013

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 69 new members and 11 foreign associates, announced NAE President Charles M. Vest today.  This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,250 and the number of foreign associates to 211.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

A list of the newly elected members and foreign associates follows, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments.