College of Fellows

AIMBE Fellows represent the top 2% of medical and biological engineers. They include the most accomplished medical and biological engineers in academia, industry, education, clinical practice, and government.

3 AIMBE Fellows are Nobel Prize winners
12 AIMBE Fellows have received the Presidential Medal of Science
12 AIMBE Fellows have received the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation
221 AIMBE Fellows are members of the NAE
113 AIMBE Fellows are members of the NAM
48 AIMBE Fellows are members of the NAS

For more details, please visit Awards and Honors.



Yongjie Jessica Zhang, Ph.D.

Chair – 2024

George Tallman Ladd and Florence Barrett Ladd Professor
Carnegie Mellon University

For outstanding contributions to computational mechanics and biomedicine.


Michael R. King, Ph.D.

Chair – 2023

J. Lawrence Wilson Professor and Department Chair, Biomedical Engineering
Vanderbilt University

For increasing our understanding of the transport and adhesion of blood cells and circulating tumor cells in the bloodstream.

Guillermo Ameer, Sc.D.

Chair – 2022

Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Surgery
Northwestern University

For outstanding contributions to medical and biological engineering through his noted work with vascular and orthopaedic tissues.

Susan S. Margulies, Ph.D.

Chair – 2021

Wallace H. Coulter Chair, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Injury Biomechanics
Georgia Institute of Technology/Emory University

For discovering fundamental and integrated mechanisms governing the biomechanics of head injury and biomechanics of the lung in health and disease.

Joyce Y. Wong, Ph.D.

Chair – 2020

College of Engineering Distinguished Faculty Fellow and Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Boston University

For innovative development of biomaterials to probe how structure, material properties and composition of cell-biomaterial interfaces modulate fundamental cellular processes.

Paul Citron, MSEE, Ph.D. (hon.)

Chair – 2019

Vice President of Technology Policy and Academic Relations (Retired)

For his contributions to the advancement of implantable and invasive therapeutic devices.

Tejal DesaiTejal Desai, Ph.D.

Chair – 2018

Sorensen Family Dean of Engineering, Professor of Engineering
Brown University

For her seminal contributions to for innovative drug delivery technology.

Anthony Guiseppi-Elie, Sc.D.

Chair – 2017

TEES Professor and Department Head
Texas A&M University

For bio-smart materials based on electroconductive hydrogels.

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, Ph.D.

Chair – 2016

Mikati Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Medical Sciences
Columbia University

For exceptional creativity in research, seminal pioneering work in translational regenerative medicine, outstanding leadership, and use of her high visibility to inspire, mentor and advocate particularly for women in engineering.

Christine Schmidt, Ph.D.

Chair – 2015

Pruitt Family Professor and Chair
University of Florida

For development of synthetic biomaterials that stimulate the regeneration of damaged peripheral and spinal nerves and successful clinical application.

Jennifer L. West, Ph.D.

Chair – 2014

Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
Duke University

For many contributions in biomaterials and tissue engineering including seminal work in diagnosis and treatment of cancer by nanotechnology.

Shankar Subramaniam, Ph.D.

Chair – 2013

Chair of the Bioengineering Department and the Joan and Irwin Jacobs Endowed Chair in Bioengineering and Systems Biology
University of California, San Diego

For innovative research on modeling protein homology and molecular recognition, and contributions to the definition and advancement of bioinformatics.

David Mooney, Ph.D.

Chair – 2012

Robert P. Pinkas Family Professor of Bioengineering
Harvard University

For outstanding achievements advancing the field of tissue engineering through scientific discovery and the training of graduate and postdoctoral fellows.

Alan J. Russell, Ph.D.

Chair – 2011

Distinguished University Professor of Surgery and Director, McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
University of Pittsburgh

For excellence in enzymology and rational biomaterial design as applied to medicine.

Robert Linsenmeier, Ph.D.

Chair – 2010

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Neurobiology, Professor of Ophthalmology, Director of Northwestern Center for Engineering Education Research
Northwestern University

For pioneering research on retinal oxygenation processes and the use of engineering methodology for studies of the retinal microenvironment.

Charles J. Robinson, D.Sc., P.E.

Chair – 2009

Herman L. Schulman Endowed Chair in Rehabilitation Eng. and Director of CREST
Clarkson University

For contributions to rehabilitation engineering and the welfare of spinal cord injured individuals and for international leadership in biomedical engineering.

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair – 2008

University Professor, and Albert & Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Connecticut Health Center

For leadership in the development of new degradable biomedical polymers and new techniques in musculoskeletal tissue engineering.

Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D.

Chair – 2007

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Pharmacy, Director, Institute for Biomaterials, Drug Delivery and Regenerative Medicine
University of Texas at Austin

For significant contributions in the areas of biomaterials, in particular, hydrogels.

Steven Goldstein, Ph.D.

Chair – 2006

Professor Emeritus, Orthopaedic Surgery, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering
University of Michigan

For outstanding contributions to the understanding of trabecular bone architecture and bone remodeling.