Equity and Anti-racism: A Roadmap to Policy Transformation in BME

AIMBE hosted a virtual summit on January 28-29, 2021 to catalyze institutional changes directed to Biomedical Engineering departments, and their respective institutions, to actively lead the way on anti-racism.

The goal of the summit was to provide a set of detailed action items that would foster an optimal climate for equity and inclusion on campus. The following themes were addressed: Culture and Climate, Institutional Policy, Equity and Inclusion, and Public Accountability.

Society Sponsor:

Program Moderators

Lilia A. Abron, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

CEO/President and Founder
PEER Consultants, P.C.


Devona F. Pierre, Ed.D.

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Director
St. Petersburg College


University President’s Address Racism in BME

Gilda Barabino, Ph.D.

Olin College of Engineering


Gary May, Ph.D.

UC Davis


M. Roy Wilson, M.D.

Wayne State University


Deans Panel: Institutional Changes to Implement NOW

Stephanie Adams, Ph.D.

Dean of the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science
University of Texas, Dallas


Jennifer Curtis, Ph.D.

Former Dean of the College of Engineering
UC Davis


Rosemarie Wesson, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Provost for Research
The City College of New York


Federal and Private Funding for Diversity and Inclusion

Noni Byrnes, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Scientific Review
National Institutes of Health


Lorelle Espinosa, Ph.D.

Program Director
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation


Christine Grant, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
North Carolina State University, Broadening Participation in Engineering, NSF



1:40 p.m. to 2:20 p.m. Break-Out Rooms

Institutional Resources for DEI Initiatives

Alison Gammie, Ph.D.

Director, NIGMS
National Institutes of Health


Rev. Dr. Bryant T. Marks, Sr.

Founder and Chief Equity Officer
National Training Institute on Race and Equity


Thomas Rudin

Former Director, Board on Higher Education & Workforce
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine


Addressing Recruitment and Retention Strategies

Erika Tatiana Camacho, Ph.D.

Program Director for the ADVANCE and HSI Programs
National Science Foundation


Lesia Crumpton-Young, Ph.D.

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Morgan State University


Lola Eniola-Adefeso, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Macromolecular Science and Engineering
University of Michigan


Suzanna M. Rose, Ph.D.

Associate Provost, Office to Advance Women, Equity and Diversity
Florida International University


4:00 p.m. to 4:40 p.m. Break-Out Rooms

Fostering an Anti-Racism Culture and Climate on Campus

John M.M. Anderson, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor, College of Engineering and Architecture
Howard University


Myron Anderson, Ph.D.

Vice President for Inclusive Excellence
University of Texas at San Antonio


Nilanjana “Buju” Dasgupta, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology and the Director of Faculty Equity and Inclusion
University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Ranu Jung, Ph.D.

Wallace H Coulter Eminent Scholar Endowed Chair in Biomedical Engineering
Florida International University


Key Aspects of Mentoring Underrepresented Groups in BME

Adrienne T. Cooper, Ph.D.

Provost & Executive Vice President
Florida Memorial University


Monica F. Cox, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Engineering
The Ohio State University


Manu Platt, Ph.D.

Diversity Director, STC on Emergent Behaviors of Integrated Cellular Systems
Georgia Tech/Emory University


12:45 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. Break-Out Rooms

Public Accountability Playing Critical Role in Anti-Racism

Bob Belle, Ed.D.

Senior Consultant, State Doctoral Scholars Program
Southern Regional Education Board


María Crummett, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Foundation for a College Education


Angela Phillips Diaz

Executive Director of Government Research Relations
University of California, San Diego


Megan McDevitt

Vice President of Communications
Gladstone Institutes


Summit Steering Committee:

  • Norma Alcantar, Chair of the Committee for Underrepresented Minorities, AIMBE
  • Evangelia Bellas, Chair of the Diversity Committee, Biomedical Engineering Society, BMES
  • Tejal Desai, President, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, AIMBE
  • Michele Grimm, Chair of the Academic Council, AIMBE
  • Jacqueline C. Linnes, Purdue University
  • Sarah Mandell, Director of Public Policy and Strategic Partnerships, AIMBE
  • Mary Roberts, Chair of the N-Medicine Section, American Association for the Advancement of Science, AAAS
  • Cynthia A. Reinhart-King, Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, AIMBE
  • Sylvia Thomas, Member-at-Large, Committee of Underrepresented Minorities, AIMBE
  • Joyce Wong, Chair of the College of Fellows, AIMBE

Questions or comments? Contact program@aimbe.org.