Yizhou Dong, Ph.D.

AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2022
For outstanding contributions to lipid nanotechnology and RNA therapeutics.

RNA-Based Therapy Fights Melanoma in Mice Models

Via Mirage News | July 27, 2023

Investigators at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai have designed an innovative RNA-based strategy to activate dendritic cells—which play a key role in immune response—that eradicated tumors and prevented their recurrence in mouse models of melanoma.

The findings, which suggest that the approach has the potential to be effective against tumors that have already spread to other parts of the body and against different cancer types, were reported in the July 27 issue of Nature Nanotechnology [DOI: 10.1038/s41565-023-01453-9].

Cancer cells employ strategies to switch off various stages of the cancer-immunity cycle, the process by which dendritic cells educate T cells to kill cancer cells. This immunosuppressive environment that impedes activation of cancer-killing T cells allows tumors to grow, say the researchers… Continue reading.


Dr. Yizhou Dong Elected to the 2022 Class of the AIMBE College of Fellows

Via AIMBE | February 18, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the election of Yizhou Dong, Ph.D., Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy Division of Pharmaceutics and Pharmacology, Ohio State University to its College of Fellows. Dr. Dong was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the AIMBE College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to lipid nanotechnology and RNA therapeutics.

The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. The most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators, and successful entrepreneurs comprise the College of Fellows. AIMBE Fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research, and innovation. AIMBE Fellows have been awarded the Nobel Prize, the Presidential Medal of Science and the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation, and many also are members of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, and the National Academy of Sciences… Continue reading.