Daniel J. Siegwart, Ph.D.

AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2022
For his outstanding contribution to lipid nanoparticles for nucleic acid delivery.

Lipid nanoparticles carry gene-editing cancer drugs past tumor defenses

Via UT Southwestern | June 23, 2022

As they grow, solid tumors surround themselves with a thick, hard-to-penetrate wall of molecular defenses. Getting drugs past that barricade is notoriously difficult. Now, scientists at UT Southwestern have developed nanoparticles that can break down the physical barriers around tumors to reach cancer cells. Once inside, the nanoparticles release their payload: a gene editing system that alters DNA inside the tumor, blocking its growth and activating the immune system.

The new nanoparticles, described in Nature Nanotechnology, effectively stopped the growth and spread of ovarian and liver tumors in mice. The system offers a new path forward for the use of the gene editing tool known as CRISPR-Cas9 in cancer treatment, said study leader Daniel Siegwart, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biochemistry at UT Southwestern… Continue reading.


Dr. Daniel Siegwart Elected to the 2022 Class of the AIMBE College of Fellows

Via AIMBE | February 18, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the election of Daniel J. Siegwart, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept. of Biochemistry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center to its College of Fellows. Dr. Siegwart was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the AIMBE College of Fellows for his outstanding contribution to lipid nanoparticles for nucleic acid delivery.

The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. The most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators, and successful entrepreneurs comprise the College of Fellows. AIMBE Fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research, and innovation. AIMBE Fellows have been awarded the Nobel Prize, the Presidential Medal of Science and the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation, and many also are members of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, and the National Academy of Sciences… Continue reading.