Board of Directors

Executive Committee

President (2016-2018)

Gilda Barabino, Ph.D.
Dean, The Grove School of Engineering
City College of New York

Executive Director

Milan Yager, MPA
Executive Director
American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

Secretary-Treasurer (2016-2018)

Philip LeDuc, Ph.D.
Director of the Industry/University Center for Biosurfaces
Carnegie Mellon University

Chair, College of Fellows (2016)

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, Ph.D.
Mikati Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Medical Sciences
Columbia University

Past President (2016)

Ravi V. Bellamkonda, Ph.D.
Chair in Biomedical Engineering & GCC Distinguished Scholar
Georgia Institute of Technology


Vice President, At-Large (2015-2017)

Steven C. George, M.D., Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis

Vice President, At-Large (2015-2017)

Scott P. Bruder, M.D., Ph.D.
Bruder Consulting International, LLC

Vice President, At-Large (2016-2018)

Alyssa Panitch, Ph.D.
Lislie A. Geddes Professor
Chair of Biomedical Engineering
Purdue University

Vice President, At-Large (2016-2018)

Stuart Cooper, Ph.D.
University Scholar Professor
College of Engineering
The Ohio State University

Chair, Academic Council (2016-2017)

Frederick Epstein, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair Biomedical Engineering
University of Virginia

Chair, Council of Societies (2015-2017)

Lynne C. Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Chair, Industry Council(2015-2017)

Susan Drapeau, Ph.D.
Senior Director, Business Development and Strategy
Vericel Corporation

Chair-Elect, College of Fellows (2016)

Anthony Guiseppi-Elie, Ph.D.
TEES Professor and Department Head
Texas A&M University

Chair, Awards Committee (2016)

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
University Professor
Director, Institute for Regenerative Engineering
University of Connecticut