AIMBE Annual Event

Friday, March 25, 2022

Join us for this virtual meeting, including the induction of the 2022 Class of the College of Fellows and presentation of the Pierre Galletti Award during the Awards Ceremony.


3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET

Join us for this prestigious induction ceremony of the AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2022, announcing the election of 154 new members to the College in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements. Election to the AIMBE College of Fellows is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to a medical and biological engineer.


Teresa Woodruff, Ph.D.

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Michigan State University

4:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET

Increasing Societal Impact of Biomedical Engineering

Teresa K. Woodruff, Ph.D. serves as Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at Michigan State University. As chief academic officer, Provost Woodruff provides leadership for matters related to academic programs, research, and outreach involving faculty, students, and academic staff. She oversees the quality of instruction, scholarship, and leadership development at the university through collaborative work with deans, faculty, and student leaders… Continue to her bio.

Omar Ishrak, Ph.D.

Chairman of the Board, Intel
Former Chairman & CEO, Medtronic

4:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET

Releasing Ventilator IP Amid Global Pandemic: Lessons Learned

Omar Ishrak is a global healthcare and technology thought leader, with a passion for using technology to innovate, invent, and disrupt healthcare. Omar served as Chairman and CEO of Medtronic from 2011-2020 and currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors at Intel. He is recognized as a creative and forward-thinking problem solver — ranking in America’s 100 Most Innovative Leaders by Forbes. In his more than 35 years in healthcare technology companies… Continue to his bio.


5:00 p.m. to 5:40 p.m. ET

Join AIMBE in our annual Awards Ceremony and presentation of the prestigious Pierre Galletti Award. Learn more about the Pierre Galletti Award here. In addition, awardees of the AIMBE Professional Impact Awards will be announced and celebrated by their esteemed peers.

Emery N. Brown, MD, Ph.D. – Bio
2022 Pierre Galletti Awardee


Tejal Desai, Ph.D.

President, AIMBE

Deborah Cowan Endowed Professor
University of California, San Francisco


Susan Margulies, Ph.D.

Chair, AIMBE College of Fellows

Assistant Director of NSF, Engineering Directorate
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory School of Medicine
GRA Eminent Scholar in Injury Biomechanics


Joyce Wong, Ph.D.

President-Elect, AIMBE

College of Engineering Distinguished Faculty Fellow, Boston University


Guillermo Ameer, Ph.D.

Chair-Elect, AIMBE College of Fellows
Daniel Hale Williams Professor, Northwestern University


Milan Yager

Executive Director, AIMBE