Aliasger K. Salem, Ph.D.

AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2018
For outstanding contributions to nanoparticle based drug delivery, cancer vaccine development and materials based approaches to regenerative medicine.

Outstanding Teachers Recognized

Via University of Iowa | July 28, 2020

We are pleased to announce the student-nominated Teacher of the Year Award recipients for the 2019-2020 academic year:

Aliasger Salem (Class of 2023)

Aliasger Salem is the Lyle and Sharon Bighley Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences. He received his PhD in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom, and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine from 2002-2004. Salem joined the UI College of Pharmacy in 2004. His research interests are primarily focused on self-assembling systems, the rational design of novel drug and gene delivery systems, and on the development of sophisticated scaffolds for tissue-specific regeneration. Salem teaches a course to first-year Doctor of Pharmacy students called Materials for Drug and Gene Delivery.

“Dr. Salem encouraged students to visit him outside of class if they were struggling from day one. He showed that he genuinely cared about each student’s success. Dr. Salem gave the class a motivational speech about how to best be successful in school. He always communicated course material effectively and checked for understanding by utilizing Poll Everywhere and addressing any confusion he saw during class,” said a student.

More awardee profiles are available here.

Researchers, scholars, inventors and mentors recognized

Via University of Iowa | May 15, 2020

Like much else this spring, the Office of the Vice President’s annual Celebrating Excellence awards event had to be tabled because of the COVID-19 outbreak.

While glasses weren’t raised on April 28, when the awards program was scheduled to take place at Hancher, OVPR still wants to recognize, faculty, staff, and students who stand out for their commitment to discovery, their shepherding of young students, their entrepreneurship, their gifts as research communicators, and their support of the campus research enterprise.
As part of a “virtual celebration,” information about the award recipients, including patent, license, and option recipients, are featured on a spotlight website, which includes a congratulatory video message from Vice President for Research Marty Scholtz… Continue reading.

UI honors recipients of 103rd Hancher-Finkbine Medallions and Distinguished Student Leader Certificates

Via University of Iowa | April 22, 2020

The University of Iowa’s most prestigious awards for faculty, staff, and students were announced April 21 on the Hancher-Finkbine website. UI President Bruce Harreld and Vice President for Student Life Sarah Hansen introduced the history of the awards and the tradition of the Finkbine Dinner, which was canceled this year due to COVID-19, before recognizing this year’s recipients.

Hancher-Finkbine Medallions recognizing leadership, learning, and loyalty were presented to students Marissa Mueller, Kaydee Ecker, Dexter Golinghorst, and Bernadette Nelson; College of Pharmacy Professor Aliasger Salem; staff member Peggy Schoonover; and UI alumnus Carol Haveman Lynch… Continue reading.

Dr. Aliasger Salem Inducted into Medical and Biological Engineering Elite

Via AIMBE | April 10, 2018

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the induction of Aliasger K. Salem, Ph.D., Lyle and Sharon Bighley Chair and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Division of Pharmaceutics and Translational Therapeutics, College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa, to its College of Fellows. Dr. Salem was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to nanoparticle based drug delivery, cancer vaccine development and materials based approaches to regenerative medicine.